IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter
Franchisor Intelligence / Griswold / Training & support

What does Griswold provide, and what does it charge for?

Griswold Home Care gives new owners 72 hours of classroom training. That is higher than most among home care systems.

Across 15 home care systems

Which systems train new owners longer than Griswold? →

Classroom hours a new owner gets, across the systems that state them

Owner and principal-operator programmes only — audiences are never added together.

Source: Item 11 training table, 2026 filingsHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Initial classroom training hours for an owner, by system
SystemClassroom hours
A Place At HomeNot stated in a form we could read
Amada Senior CareNot stated in a form we could read
Assisting Hands Home Care13
BrightStar Care49
CareBuilders at Home41
ComForCareNot stated in a form we could read
Comfort KeepersNot stated in a form we could read
Executive Home Care30
FirstLight Home CareNot stated in a form we could read
Griswold72
Hallmark HomecareNot stated in a form we could read
Home Instead25
HomeCare Advocacy Network54
Homewatch CareGiversNot stated in a form we could read
HomeWell Care Services40
Nurse Next Door33
One You Love Homecare56
Right at Home85
Senior Helpers43
Home Matters Caregiving62
Seniors Helping Seniors32
SYNERGY HomeCare60
Visiting AngelsNot stated in a form we could read

Read from each filing’s own training table — its totals row, or the sum of its rows where every row states a number. A blank cell is never counted as a zero, and self-paced online study is not counted as on-the-job training, because the tables print them as different columns.

The owner
72 hours in the classroomp. 34 ↗

Where it happens, and who has to be there

How long: up to 11-15 weeks

Where: typically held at our corporate headquarters, but such training may be held via webinar depending on local, state or federal travel restrictions or at any other location we may designate

Part of it is or may be delivered remotely.

Who must attend: youp. 33 ↗

What Griswold says it will do for an owner

Every item below is described in this filing. A system that does not mention something has not necessarily withheld it — Item 11 is written by the franchisor, and silence is silence.

Before you open
  • On-site opening / launch assistance
  • Pre-opening guidance
  • Site / office location assistance
Training
  • Annual conference / convention
  • Business coaching / field support visits
  • Initial training program
  • Ongoing / additional training
Winning clients
  • Local marketing materials and templates — at the owner's cost
  • National / brand fund marketing
Running the business
  • Compliance, licensing or accreditation support
  • Operations manual access
Systems and software
  • Technology / software platform provided
Everything else
  • Forms, templates or policy documents provided
  • Franchisee advisory council
  • Online learning / LMS
  • Performance reviews / benchmarking / reporting
  • Public relations / media
  • Quality assurance / client satisfaction program

Griswold requires an owner to run 13 systems of its choosing.

Everyday office software
  • Business-class computer with video teleconferencing equipmentRequired
  • DocuSignRequired
  • EmailRequired
  • Fax/copier/scanner capacityRequired
  • Microsoft 365Required
Computers, phones and networks
  • File backup abilitiesRequired
  • High-speed Internet accessRequired
  • Smart phoneRequired
The franchisor's own systems
  • ESRI (demographics and income reports)Named in the filing
  • FranConnectRequired
  • GHC intranet systemRequired
Marketing and the website
  • Local Marketing ProgramRequired
  • Website (developed and maintained by GHC)Named in the filing
Scheduling and care records
  • GHC preferred software system / designated software vendorRequired
  • WellSkyRequired
Training platforms
  • Learning management systemNamed in the filing

Griswold requires its owners to attend the annual conference.

Attendance
Attending is required
p. 19 ↗
Fee
$575
p. 19 ↗
If you do not go
then-current registration fee deducted from your bank account if you fail to register for and attend at least 1 meeting or conference in a calendar year
p. 22 ↗
Travel
At the owner's expense
p. 19 ↗

What Griswold says it earns from what an owner has to buy

  • Preferred vendors (printing and office supplies, cognitive ability screening services and workbooks, telemedicine services, biometric tracking devices and services)

    GHC may receive rebates or other discounts from certain suppliers and/or preferred vendors for purchases made by you and other franchisees. GHC did not receive any payments from suppliers or preferred vendors in 2025.

  • Insurance (franchisor may purchase on franchisee's behalf if franchisee fails to procure)

    The purchase price, together with a reasonable fee for our expenses in so acting, will be payable by you immediately upon notice.

  • Email accounts (@GriswoldHomeCare.com)

    If you wish to obtain more than 5 email accounts, you will be required to pay the then-current fee for such email accounts.

How to read what a system provides

  • This is what each filing says it does, not a scorecard. We list the support a system describes. A system that does not mention something has not necessarily withheld it — Item 11 is written by the franchisor, and silence is silence.
  • Hours belong to an audience. A filing states training hours separately for an owner, a manager and clinical staff, and those figures are never added together. Only the owner's hours compare across systems.
  • Required is not the same as named. A system an owner must buy and use is a different commitment from one the filing merely mentions, and we keep the filing's own word for it.
›The numbers behind this page

What the filing says, in its own words

  • On-site opening / launch assistance: “Provide up to 10 days of on-site training, as further described below. (Franchise Agreement Section 3.1);”p. 28 ↗
  • Pre-opening guidance: “Prior to initial training, franchisees receive support in the Griswold launch process regarding the Franchise, including review of the Operations Manual, review of state specific compliance manuals, obtaining state licenses where applicable, setting up your local company, insurance, bank accounts, completing a market/rate study, locating and setting up commercial office space, and establishing criminal background screening in your state.”p. 33 ↗
  • Site / office location assistance: “GHC will provide you with information at your request, customarily within the month preceding training, concerning your Franchise site selection, considering such factors as accessibility of your chosen site for prospective Caregivers, Clients, and Care Recipients, overall location relative to your territory and your costs.”p. 28 ↗
  • Annual conference / convention: “Provide annual meetings and/or conferences among franchisees, teleconferences and additional training for franchisees. (Franchise Agreement Section 3.10).”p. 29 ↗
  • Business coaching / field support visits: “Designate 1 or more persons who will be available at reasonable times to render advice to and consult with you on the operation of your Franchise. (Franchise Agreement Section 3.7).”p. 29 ↗
  • Initial training program: “Provide up to 10 days of on-site training, as further described below. (Franchise Agreement Section 3.1);”p. 28 ↗
  • Ongoing / additional training: “Provide annual meetings and/or conferences among franchisees, teleconferences and additional training for franchisees. (Franchise Agreement Section 3.10).”p. 29 ↗
  • Local marketing materials and templates: “You are required to use our Local Marketing Program for a minimum of six (6) months, wherein you will pay us a fee as described herein and we will conduct your Local Marketing for you.”p. 31 ↗

What this filing does not disclose

  • On-the-job training hours for the owner: the filing does not state a total.
  • A technology fee as a monthly amount: the filing does not state one.

Everything on this page is what Griswold’s 2026 filing says it provides, in the filing’s own terms. Nothing here is a comparison except the training hours: the rest is a description a franchisor wrote about itself, and the absence of an item means the filing did not mention it. Source ↗

What does that support cost an owner each year? →

Ask HQ
These are the tools this system requires. What could your systems answer together?

Ask HQ reads across your scheduling, billing and recruiting data and answers the questions none of them can on their own.

Try Ask HQ
Keep going