IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter

What does an owner pay Griswold each year?

Griswold Home Care collects 5.0% on a million dollars of sales.

Across 23 home care systems

Whose royalty collects more than Griswold's at $1M in sales? →

Griswold charges the same rate on every dollar of gross receipts.

The rate on the price list, and the rate a million dollars of sales pays

Where the two marks sit on top of each other, the rate is flat.

on the price listat $1M in sales
CareBuilders at Home: 9.0% → 9.0%CareBuilders at HomeHomeCare Advocacy Network: 7.0% → 7.0%HomeCare Advocacy Net…Executive Home Care: 6.0% → 6.0%Executive Home CareHallmark Homecare: 6.0% → 6.0%Hallmark HomecareHome Matters Caregiving: 6.0% → 6.0%Home Matters Caregivi…HomeWell Care Services: 6.0% → 6.0%HomeWell Care ServicesA Place At Home: 5.5% → 5.5%A Place At HomeSeniors Helping Seniors: 6.0% → 5.4%Seniors Helping Senio…BrightStar Care: 5.3% → 5.3%BrightStar CareAmada Senior Care: 5.0% → 5.0%Amada Senior CareAssisting Hands Home Care: 5.0% → 5.0%Assisting Hands Home…ComForCare: 5.0% → 5.0%ComForCareComfort Keepers: 5.0% → 5.0%Comfort KeepersFirstLight Home Care: 5.0% → 5.0%FirstLight Home CareGriswold: 5.0% → 5.0%GriswoldHome Instead: 5.0% → 5.0%Home InsteadHomewatch CareGivers: 5.0% → 5.0%Homewatch CareGiversNurse Next Door: 5.0% → 5.0%Nurse Next DoorOne You Love Homecare: 5.0% → 5.0%One You Love HomecareRight at Home: 5.0% → 5.0%Right at HomeSenior Helpers: 5.0% → 5.0%Senior HelpersSYNERGY HomeCare: 5.0% → 5.0%SYNERGY HomeCareVisiting Angels: 3.5% → 3.5%Visiting Angels3.3%9.2%
Source: Item 6, 2026 filingsHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Sticker royalty against the effective rate at $1M in sales
SystemOn the price listAt $1M in sales
CareBuilders at Home9.0%9.0%
HomeCare Advocacy Network7.0%7.0%
Executive Home Care6.0%6.0%
Hallmark Homecare6.0%6.0%
Home Matters Caregiving6.0%6.0%
HomeWell Care Services6.0%6.0%
A Place At Home5.5%5.5%
Seniors Helping Seniors6.0%5.4%
BrightStar Care5.3%5.3%
Amada Senior Care5.0%5.0%
Assisting Hands Home Care5.0%5.0%
ComForCare5.0%5.0%
Comfort Keepers5.0%5.0%
FirstLight Home Care5.0%5.0%
Griswold5.0%5.0%
Home Instead5.0%5.0%
Homewatch CareGivers5.0%5.0%
Nurse Next Door5.0%5.0%
One You Love Homecare5.0%5.0%
Right at Home5.0%5.0%
Senior Helpers5.0%5.0%
SYNERGY HomeCare5.0%5.0%
Visiting Angels3.5%3.5%

The effective rate is what the schedule actually collects at a million dollars of sales, worked out from the tiers as the filing prints them. A flat schedule collects its sticker rate at every level, so its two marks coincide — that is the picture, not a drawing error.

$500K in sales
5.0%
$1M in sales
5.0%
$2M in sales
5.0%

Charged on gross receipts. 17 of the 21 systems that state a base charge on everything billed. Source ↗

What else comes out every month

Brand fund
A share of sales, spent on marketing the brand.
1.0%
Local marketing
Minimum of $12,000 per year (reduced to $6,000 per year if you hire a dedicated sales and marketing professional or if jointly operated by 2 related adult family members). Also, required Local Marketing Program of $250/month for first six months, then optional $400/month Basic Plan or $600/month Plus Plan.
Spent in the owner’s own market, not paid to the franchisor — so it is not in the figure above.
at least $1K/mo

Griswold expects a business to be billing $700K a year once it is established.

The sales an owner is expected to reach

Each step is a period the filing names.

Second Cale…$250KThird Calen…$350KFourth Cale…$400KFifth Calen…$450KSixth Calen…$500KSeventh Cal…$550KEighth Cale…$600KNinth Calen…$650KTenth and E…$700K$0
Source: Item 12 and the franchise agreement, 2026 filingHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Griswold: the minimum schedule as the filing prints it
PeriodAmount
Second Cale…$250K
Third Calen…$350K
Fourth Cale…$400K
Fifth Calen…$450K
Sixth Calen…$500K
Seventh Cal…$550K
Eighth Cale…$600K
Ninth Calen…$650K
Tenth and E…$700K

Drawn only where the filing makes the timing of each step clear. Where a schedule’s periods are ambiguous it is listed in words and not charted, because a step chart is a claim about months.

Miss it and the agreement can be terminated. p. 21 ↗

What is paid once

To join
$50K
$100K is the low end of what it takes to open
Source ↗
Veteran discount
20.0% off
Veteran discount: 20% off the initial franchise fee
p. 16 ↗
To sell the business on
It depends who buys
$15,000 plus any brokerage fee payable by franchisee; or $5,000 for any transfer to an existing GHC franchisee.
p. 19 ↗
To renew
No fee
You may renew the Franchise Agreement in 5-year increments, if not otherwise in default, at no additional cost.
p. 41 ↗

How to read these fees

  • The sticker royalty is the smallest part of the answer. What a rate collects depends on what it is charged on — everything billed, or billings after refunds and collected taxes — and on what else recurs beside it.
  • The total is shown at a million dollars of sales. That is a common figure to reach and it makes systems quoting percentages, monthly amounts and flat minimums add up in the same units. It is arithmetic, not a forecast.
  • Local marketing is not a fee. Money a system requires an owner to spend in their own market is a real obligation and it does not go to the franchisor, so it sits outside the total and is listed on its own.
›The numbers behind this page

What the agreement says about the minimum

Starting in the second calendar year after the opening date, you are required to achieve certain annual minimum sales quotas (“Annual Sales Performance Metric”) as set forth in the table below:

What this filing does not disclose

  • A single all-in figure: one of the recurring fees is not stated as a number, and a total built from the rest would understate it.
  • A technology fee: the filing does not state one as a monthly amount.
  • What is owed before the first client: the filing does not state all three of the fixed monthly amounts that would make one up.

Every fee on this page is read from Griswold’s own 2026 disclosure document. The annual total is our arithmetic on those stated fees at a million dollars of sales, and it holds the royalty, the brand fund and the technology fee — the three things paid to the franchisor every year, whatever the business does. Source ↗

What does Griswold provide, and what does it charge for? →

Ask HQ
That is what this system charges. What is your own cost of doing business?

Ask HQ reads your billings and overhead against the same benchmarks these filings make comparable.

Try Ask HQ
Keep going