IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter
Intelligence / Methodology

Methodology

Every number in this library carries three things: where it came from, when it's from, and how it was made. This page is the how.

The three method tiers

  • Official — taken directly from a government source (the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Department of Veterans Affairs, the Census Bureau). Rendered plain, cited verbatim, linked to the source.
  • Derived — simple arithmetic on official numbers: a share, a sum, an hourly equivalent of a per-15-minute rate. The math is disclosed next to the figure.
  • HomecareHQ analysis — our own estimates, always badged, always with the sample size and date window that produced the number. Today that's the monthly job-postings analysis and the cross-agency financial benchmarks.

Every figure also shows its data vintage ("as of May 2025"), because honest data has an age. When a fresher official release lands, new numbers replace old ones and the old ones are kept as history — nothing is silently edited.

DatasetCurrent vintageRefresh cadence
Caregiver wages (BLS OEWS)May 2025Yearly (each spring)
VA fee-schedule ceilingsJan 2026Yearly (January)
Veteran population (Census ACS)Dec 2024Yearly (December)
Labor market & job postingsSep 2026Monthly

Where each dataset comes from

  • Caregiver pay — the U.S. government's occupational wage survey (BLS OEWS), covering home health and personal care aides in every state and hundreds of metro areas. Updated yearly by BLS, republished here each release.
  • Advertised pay & benefits — HomecareHQ's monthly analysis of live caregiver job ads (details below).
  • VA home care rates — the published VA fee schedule: the maximum VA pays community providers for each covered service, by payment region. These are ceilings, so every figure reads "up to."
  • Veteran population — the Census Bureau's American Community Survey: veterans per county and state, including the 65-and-older group.
  • Agency financial benchmarks — aggregated from public franchise disclosure documents (see the next section).
  • Glossary — hand-curated by our editors, not scraped.

How to read the financial benchmarks

HCHQ Benchmark Research transforms recent public operating disclosures into standardized, location-weighted benchmarks for the home care industry. HCHQ independently collects, standardizes, and synthesizes this data — the value is the collection, interpretation, normalization, comparability mapping, and weighting, not merely access to the filings.

The current benchmark set incorporates publicly reported operating metrics from seven national home care systems, collectively representing hundreds of agency locations (545 for the gross-margin benchmark). HCHQ maps differently named measures to a common operating definition and weights brand-level results according to the number of locations each represents. Because source definitions and reporting methods vary, benchmarks are location-weighted medians of disclosed brand-level metrics — directional industry baselines, not exact like-for-like comparisons, and never claims of location-level observations.

Three rules apply everywhere a benchmark appears on this site:

  • Real-location pools are labeled as such, with the location and company counts behind them — and single-location and multi-territory operations never mix in one number.
  • Every benchmark carries methodology caveats (cohort exclusions, revenue-definition variance, estimated inputs). The full caveat registry renders below on this page; each card links here.
  • Vintages are disclosed. Benchmarks refresh with each annual filing cycle and are dated to the performance year they describe.
Benchmark caveat registry
  • FN-BRACKET-ESTIMATED Median estimated from the brand's bracketed distribution disclosure (linear interpolation within the median bracket).
  • FN-CALENDAR-YEAR-ASSUMPTION The schedule steps by calendar year after opening; operating months assume an opening at the start of a calendar year (the most lenient timing). A later opening reaches each step up to 11 months sooner.
  • FN-COHORT-EXCLUSIONS Brand excluded specific units from this cohort; see exclusion note.
  • FN-COHORT-WIDENED Brand cohort range did not fit a tight canonical bracket; assigned to a wider bracket that fully contains it.
  • FN-COMPANY-OPERATIONS The reporting entity also operates home care agencies directly; its revenue, costs and margins include care-delivery operations and are not comparable with fee-only franchisors.
  • FN-COMPARABILITY-GROUP Brands are compared only within the same comparability group (unit basis, revenue definition, cohort maturity). The group label is shown beside every comparison.
  • FN-COMPOUND-VALUE Source discloses multiple values in one field; first/primary value used, full text preserved.
  • FN-CONSOLIDATION-SCOPE Financials are for a parent/consolidated entity, not the franchisor alone.
  • FN-CROSS-LENS HCHQ analysis combining a franchisee-level Item 19 figure with a franchisor-level Item 21 figure; both inputs are cited. It is a diagnostic ratio, not a measure of franchisee profit or franchisor performance.
  • FN-DEBT-LINES Interest-bearing debt is the sum of the balance-sheet lines labelled as notes, loans, term debt or lines of credit; related-party loans and lease liabilities are excluded and shown separately.
  • FN-FY-BASIS Brand reports on a non-calendar fiscal year.
  • FN-GREATER-OF-FLOOR The requirement is the greater of a percentage of revenue or a fixed dollar amount; only the dollar floor is shown.
  • FN-HCHQ-EBITDA EBITDA is an HCHQ calculation: printed operating income plus depreciation and amortization as disclosed in the statements. It is not a GAAP measure and is not reported by the franchisor.
  • FN-HEADLINE-COHORT The headline figure is one Item 19 statistic chosen per brand by a published, versioned rule set (franchised, unit-level, mature, all eligible units, largest count, latest year, median first); the other disclosed cohorts remain available.
  • FN-INFERRED-MAPPING Generalized baseline: brand disclosures were mapped by meaning rather than exact definition; per-brand terms and methods vary. Use as a directional benchmark, not an exact comparison.
  • FN-MEDIAN-OF-MEDIANS Composite is the median of brand-reported (or HCHQ-computed) per-brand medians — brands weight equally regardless of unit count.
  • FN-MIN-ANNUALIZED HCHQ analysis: the minimum in force at the stated operating month, converted to an annual (or monthly) amount from the brand's stated period; primary initial-term schedule only.
  • FN-MIXED-BASIS Underlying disclosures use different measurement bases (e.g. weekly vs monthly); values converted to a common basis before aggregation.
  • FN-PARTIAL-YEAR-INCLUDED Includes units open less than a full year.
  • FN-PRE-TAX-COMPARISON Pre-tax figures are shown because pass-through entities (LLCs, S corporations) record little or no income tax, so net income is not comparable across tax statuses.
  • FN-RANK-COHORT Cohort is a performance-ranked subset (top/bottom/quartile), not a random or complete sample.
  • FN-REPORTING-ENTITY Item 21 requires audited statements, but not always the franchisor's own: these figures belong to the entity named beside them, which for some brands is a parent or a combined group and may include businesses other than this brand. Item 21 figures are compared with other Item 21 figures on that basis; the entity and what it consolidates are shown with the number.
  • FN-REV-DEF-VARIES Revenue definitions differ by brand (Gross Sales/Revenue(s)/Receipts/Billings, Net Billings, etc.); see each brand's verbatim definition.
  • FN-SCANNED-SOURCE Extracted from scanned pages; not machine-verifiable against text layer; human-reviewed.
  • FN-SOURCE-TYPO Obvious typographical error in source document corrected; original preserved in derivation.
  • FN-STATEMENT-SET Figures come from one audited statement package (entity, report, fiscal year-end); a later package supersedes the comparative years of an earlier one, and packages for other entities are never blended.
  • FN-TAX-STRUCTURE Entity tax structures differ (pass-through LLC vs C-corp); net income is not directly comparable across brands.
  • FN-TOOL-GATED Cohort limited to units using a specific software tool.
  • FN-TRAINING-COLUMN-DEF Training-hour columns are the brand's own (classroom, instructor-led, interactive, on-the-job, field); totals come from the printed Totals row or, when marked derived, the sum of the printed rows or program parts.
  • FN-TRANSPARENCY-PROFILE A count of the basis facts the brand's Item 19 discloses (cohort rule, counts, exclusions, range, definitions, data source, period). It measures how much the disclosure explains, not financial performance.
  • FN-UNIT-BASIS Reporting unit is the brand's own (business/territory/outlet); composites never mix bases.
  • FN-UNIT-COUNT-FALLBACK One or more brands did not state a sample size for this table; their franchised outlet count (Item 20) was used as the weight.
  • FN-UNIT-WEIGHTED Aggregate is weighted by each brand's disclosed reporting-unit count; headline n is total units, not brands.

The posting sample

Advertised-pay and benefits numbers come from caregiver job ads posted in the last 30 days, pulled monthly for every tracked metro using the searches a real applicant would run: caregiver, home care aide, HHA, PCA home care, CNA home care. Duplicates are removed; then an AI classifier reads each full ad — not just the employer name — and keeps only home care agencies (no hospitals, nursing homes, assisted living, staffing registries, or families hiring directly). Every surviving ad counts toward the ad total and benefit percentages; pay stats use only the ads that disclosed a wage, and both counts always render together. Below 25 pay-disclosing ads a market gets a "small sample" flag and no pay ranges — a shaky percentile would undermine every honest number around it.

Corrections

Spotted an error? We correct fast. Write to us via the contact page — corrections ship with the next daily rebuild, and material ones are noted here.

Cite us

This data is free to use with attribution. Cite as:

HomecareHQ Intelligence, homecarehq.com/intelligence - accessed September 2026.