IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter
Griswold logo

Griswold

scalingfranchising since 1984

Griswold is a home care franchise system, with 198 locations, and it is still adding more. Owners pay a 5.0% royalty on gross sales. — HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing.

What stands out

HomecareHQ analysis of 23 home care franchise systems' 2026 disclosure documents.

How Griswold compares

Runs behind
  • Three-year unit growth+21.5%
    below typical
Differs from typical
  • Initial franchise fee$50K
    below typical

Growth, against 12 other scaling systems

Net unit growth
HomeCare Advocacy Network: −41.7%Nurse Next Door: −2.7%Visiting Angels: +0.4%Home Instead: +1.1%Right at Home: +5.0%BrightStar Care: +6.2%Comfort Keepers: +7.1%Griswold: +8.8%ComForCare: +9.3%Senior Helpers: +11.0%HomeWell Care Services: +11.7%Homewatch CareGivers: +12.6%SYNERGY HomeCare: +13.8%Assisting Hands Home Care: +14.9%FirstLight Home Care: +17.2%Seniors Helping Seniors: +24.4%CareBuilders at Home: +27.3%Amada Senior Care: +33.2%A Place At Home: +38.9%Hallmark Homecare: +63.9%One You Love Homecare: +71.4%Home Matters Caregiving: +93.8%Executive Home Care: +276.2%
+8.8%
below typical
Three-year unit growth
Visiting Angels: +1.7%Home Instead: +2.0%BrightStar Care: +14.1%Right at Home: +14.1%Comfort Keepers: +15.7%Homewatch CareGivers: +17.1%Griswold: +21.5%ComForCare: +24.3%Senior Helpers: +25.5%FirstLight Home Care: +30.1%Assisting Hands Home Care: +36.5%SYNERGY HomeCare: +37.9%Nurse Next Door: +42.0%Amada Senior Care: +63.1%HomeWell Care Services: +63.4%One You Love Homecare: +71.4%CareBuilders at Home: +75.0%Seniors Helping Seniors: +85.1%A Place At Home: +163.2%Executive Home Care: +338.9%
+21.5%
below typical
Exit rate
CareBuilders at Home: 0.0%Home Matters Caregiving: 0.0%Right at Home: 0.4%Comfort Keepers: 0.7%Home Instead: 1.6%Visiting Angels: 1.7%FirstLight Home Care: 2.0%ComForCare: 2.4%Senior Helpers: 2.8%BrightStar Care: 2.9%Griswold: 3.3%Assisting Hands Home Care: 3.5%SYNERGY HomeCare: 4.7%A Place At Home: 5.6%Homewatch CareGivers: 5.6%Seniors Helping Seniors: 5.6%One You Love Homecare: 7.1%Amada Senior Care: 9.2%Executive Home Care: 9.5%HomeWell Care Services: 12.2%Nurse Next Door: 16.4%Hallmark Homecare: 25.0%HomeCare Advocacy Network: 50.0%
3.3%
near typical

Fees and support, across every system that discloses the measure

Effective royalty at $1M
Visiting Angels: 3.5%Amada Senior Care: 5.0%Assisting Hands Home Care: 5.0%ComForCare: 5.0%Comfort Keepers: 5.0%FirstLight Home Care: 5.0%Griswold: 5.0%Home Instead: 5.0%Homewatch CareGivers: 5.0%Nurse Next Door: 5.0%One You Love Homecare: 5.0%Right at Home: 5.0%Senior Helpers: 5.0%SYNERGY HomeCare: 5.0%BrightStar Care: 5.3%Seniors Helping Seniors: 5.4%A Place At Home: 5.5%Executive Home Care: 6.0%Hallmark Homecare: 6.0%Home Matters Caregiving: 6.0%HomeWell Care Services: 6.0%HomeCare Advocacy Network: 7.0%CareBuilders at Home: 9.0%
5.0%
near typical
Initial franchise fee
A Place At Home: $50KCareBuilders at Home: $50KGriswold: $50KHomeWell Care Services: $50KOne You Love Homecare: $50KRight at Home: $50KHomeCare Advocacy Network: $50KExecutive Home Care: $50KBrightStar Care: $50KFirstLight Home Care: $50KHomewatch CareGivers: $50KVisiting Angels: $52KHome Matters Caregiving: $52KHome Instead: $54KAssisting Hands Home Care: $55KComfort Keepers: $55KSenior Helpers: $55KSeniors Helping Seniors: $55KSYNERGY HomeCare: $55KAmada Senior Care: $57KComForCare: $59KHallmark Homecare: $60KNurse Next Door: $72K
$50K
below typical
Classroom training hours
Assisting Hands Home Care: 13Home Instead: 25Executive Home Care: 30Seniors Helping Seniors: 32Nurse Next Door: 33HomeWell Care Services: 40CareBuilders at Home: 41Senior Helpers: 43BrightStar Care: 49HomeCare Advocacy Network: 54One You Love Homecare: 56SYNERGY HomeCare: 60Home Matters Caregiving: 62Griswold: 72Right at Home: 85
72
higher than most

The typical home care franchise: 5.0% royalty rate, $52K initial franchise fee, +12.6% net unit growth. See what’s typical →

Not shown for this system: all-in fee load at $1M (the filing does not disclose it) · royalty share of revenue (the filing does not disclose it).

Explore this system

Questions this data answers

Ask HQ uses these same benchmarks to answer questions about your own agency’s growth, fees and margins. See how it works →

The basics

Royalty
5.0%on gross salesSource ↗
Brand fund
1.0%Source ↗
Initial franchise fee
$50KSource ↗
Cost to open, from
$100KSource ↗
Agreement term
10 yearsSource ↗
Franchised locations
198at the end of 2025Source ↗
Standard territory
25,000residents aged 65 and overp. 16 ↗
Legal entity
Griswold International, LLC
Franchising since
1984p. 10 ↗
Filing read
2026 disclosure document
›Key statistics to cite
  • Griswold added +8.8% to its franchised locations last year (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold grew its franchised locations +21.5% over three years (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold lost 3.3% of its franchised locations last year (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold ended the year with 198 franchised locations (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold saw 2.7% of its locations change hands (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold draws 1.8% of its revenue from selling new franchises (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold runs a 10.3% operating margin (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold reports $708K in annual revenue for the businesses it counts (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold spells out 12 of the basic facts behind its revenue figures (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold charges a 5.0% royalty (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold collects 5.0% on a million dollars of sales (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold charges $50K to buy the franchise (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold asks 1.0% of sales for the brand fund (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold puts the cost of opening at $100K and up (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold gives new owners 72 hours of classroom training (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold runs its agreement for 10 years (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
  • Griswold gives an owner a territory of 25,000 residents aged 65 and over (HomecareHQ analysis of its 2026 filing).
Ask HQ
That's how Griswold compares. How does your agency?

Ask HQ reads your own numbers against the same benchmarks — growth, fees, margins and the rest of what these filings make comparable.

Try Ask HQ
Keep going

Tracking the whole field for a franchisor team? Talk to us.