What does an owner commit to at Homewatch CareGivers?
Homewatch CareGivers gives an owner a territory of 38,000–40,000 residents aged 65 and over. That is above typical among home care systems.
Across 17 home care systems
How big are other systems' territories, next to Homewatch CareGivers'? →
How long you are in, and what leaving looks like
A standard Homewatch CareGivers territory holds 38,000–40,000 residents aged 65 and over.
Standard territory size, across the systems measuring it the same way
Every system here sizes on residents aged 65 and over.
3 systems between the highest and lowest are not drawn here. The full field is in the data table below.
›View data & method
| System | Residents aged 65+ |
|---|---|
| A Place At Home | about 40,000 |
| Amada Senior Care | 32,000–42,000 |
| Assisting Hands Home Care | at least 25,000 |
| BrightStar Care | at least 15,000 |
| CareBuilders at Home | 30,000–40,000 |
| ComForCare | 25,000–35,000 |
| FirstLight Home Care | about 25,000 |
| Griswold | 25,000 |
| Home Instead | 10,000 |
| HomeCare Advocacy Network | 30,000–50,000 |
| Homewatch CareGivers | 38,000–40,000 |
| HomeWell Care Services | 30,000–40,000 |
| Nurse Next Door | about 9,000 |
| One You Love Homecare | about 50,000 |
| Right at Home | at least 15,000 |
| Senior Helpers | 25,000–35,000 |
| SYNERGY HomeCare | about 20,000 |
Only systems that state a 65-and-over population are drawn: a system sizing on the whole population has measured something different, and the two are never ranked against each other. Where a filing says “at least” a number, the qualifier travels with the value.
No exclusive territory: Territory is not exclusive
Adding to it: Added population priced at $1.85 per additional Senior
38,000–40,000 people 65+p. 15 ↗
What an owner has to hit, and what happens if they miss
What an owner may not do
- Franchisee must offer and sell all required products/services designated by franchisor, may offer only approved optional items, and cannot offer unapproved items without written consent; must discontinue any disapproved items.p. 66 ↗
- Franchisee must provide services for any Key Accounts with locations in its Territory; if it refuses or is unqualified, the franchisor or another franchisee may service the Key Account.p. 66 ↗
- Franchisee may not perform services or sell products outside its Territory without prior written consent, and may not solicit or advertise to customers outside the Territory without permission.p. 67 ↗
- Franchisee must use only the customer contracts, waivers, and other forms designated by the franchisor.p. 66 ↗
- Franchisee may not offer products/services through any channel other than those expressly approved; approval of new channels is at franchisor's discretion based on various factors, and franchisee may not sell to vendors who resell to consumers.p. 66 ↗
- Franchisor has the unlimited right to add products or services the franchisee must offer, and determines whether services offered are appropriate.p. 66 ↗
- Franchisee may be required to participate in franchisor-prescribed gift card, stored value, electronic money, and customer loyalty programs, and may not offer its own such programs without prior written approval.p. 67 ↗
Homewatch CareGivers’ filing discloses 1 proceeding.
That is 0.4 per 100 locations, against 1.3 per 100 locations across the whole field. A count of proceedings mostly measures how large and how old a system is, which is why it is shown as a rate and never as a score.
- 2016 · decided by a court · 2016CV033260
Arising from a Franchise Agreement entered into on August 24, 2012. After HWCG terminated the Franchise Agreement on July 20, 2016, Defendants failed to pay outstanding royalties, failed to return proprietary information including customer and employee lists, and continued to operate an in-home care business in violation of non-competition provisions. HWCG brought claims of (1) breach of contract; (2) unjust enrichment (in the alternative); and (3) misappropriation of trade secrets. Defendants counterclaimed for breach of contract, fraudulent misrepresentation and unjust enrichment.p. 14 ↗
How to read these terms
- Contract language does not summarize. Where a filing states a term in words, those words are what we publish, with the page they are on. Only the handful of terms that are genuinely numbers get compared with other systems.
- A territory is only comparable to one measured the same way. Some systems size on residents aged 65 and over, some on the whole population. We keep those apart and never rank one against the other.
- Disclosed cases are not a score. A count of proceedings mostly measures how big and how old a system is. We publish what each filing discloses, in its own words, with a rate per hundred locations so the count is not mistaken for a verdict.
›The numbers behind this page
What the agreement says about the minimums
- Sales you must reach: “During the term of your Franchise Agreement, you will be required to meet the following minimum performance requirements (the “Minimum Performance Requirements”):”
The proceedings, as the filing describes them
- “the Court issued its Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, finding in favor of HWCG on its claims, enforcing the non-competition provisions of the Franchise Agreement and awarding an injunction, monetary damages and attorney's fees to HWCG.”
What this filing does not disclose
- A post-term non-compete: the filing does not state one.
- What it costs to hand the business on: the filing does not state a transfer fee.
Every term on this page is read from Homewatch CareGivers’ own 2026 disclosure document, and the wording is the filing’s rather than ours. Territory sizes are compared only with systems measuring on the same basis. Disclosed proceedings are shown as the filing describes them, with their status where the filing states one. Source ↗
Once a month: what moved in the filings, which systems changed their agreements, and what it means for owners.