IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter

What does an owner commit to at HomeCare Advocacy Network?

Homecare Advocacy Network gives an owner a territory of 30,000–50,000 residents aged 65 and over. That is above typical among home care systems.

Across 17 home care systems

How big are other systems' territories, next to HomeCare Advocacy Network's? →

How long you are in, and what leaving looks like

How long you may not compete after
Post-term non-compete: 1.5 years covering the territory and areas within 10 miles (see quote for the full scope)
The typical system: 2 years
18 months
below typical
p. 38 ↗
What it costs to hand the business on
50% of the then- current Initial Franchise Fee for a franchise at the time of the transfer or 100% of the then- current Initial Franchise Fee if a Franchisee Consultant or Broker commission is payable.
It depends who buys
p. 12 ↗
What renewing means
50% of the then current Initial Franchise Fee at the time of each Successor Term approved by us.
Signing the agreement as it stands then
p. 35 ↗

A standard HomeCare Advocacy Network territory holds 30,000–50,000 residents aged 65 and over.

Standard territory size, across the systems measuring it the same way

Every system here sizes on residents aged 65 and over.

Source: Item 12, 2026 filingsHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Standard territory population, systems sizing on residents 65 and over
SystemResidents aged 65+
A Place At Homeabout 40,000
Amada Senior Care32,000–42,000
Assisting Hands Home Careat least 25,000
BrightStar Careat least 15,000
CareBuilders at Home30,000–40,000
ComForCare25,000–35,000
FirstLight Home Careabout 25,000
Griswold25,000
Home Instead10,000
HomeCare Advocacy Network30,000–50,000
Homewatch CareGivers38,000–40,000
HomeWell Care Services30,000–40,000
Nurse Next Doorabout 9,000
One You Love Homecareabout 50,000
Right at Homeat least 15,000
Senior Helpers25,000–35,000
SYNERGY HomeCareabout 20,000

Only systems that state a 65-and-over population are drawn: a system sizing on the whole population has measured something different, and the two are never ranked against each other. Where a filing says “at least” a number, the qualifier travels with the value.

No exclusive territory: Territory is not exclusive

30,000–50,000 people 65+p. 10 ↗

What an owner may not do

What you may sell
  • Franchisee may only offer and sell services and products approved by the franchisor as part of the System, and may not offer any unauthorized products or services.p. 34 ↗
Who you may sell to
  • Franchisor reserves the right to designate national or regional accounts and develop national/regional alliance programs in which the franchisee may be obligated to participate, including credentialing and naming accounts as additional insured.p. 34 ↗
Other restrictions
  • Franchisor reserves the right to change approved services and add products with no limits on that right.p. 34 ↗
  • Franchisee may not, without franchisor's written consent, place advertising at the location or in any media, or list with any business/broker/agent/attorney information concerning the sale of the Franchised Business or the franchise rights.p. 34 ↗
  • Franchisee must at all times hold itself out as an independent contractor and take actions indicating the business is independently owned and operated, not an agent of franchisor.p. 34 ↗

HomeCare Advocacy Network’s filing states that it has no litigation to disclose.

That is 0.0 per 100 locations, against 1.3 per 100 locations across the whole field. A count of proceedings mostly measures how large and how old a system is, which is why it is shown as a rate and never as a score.

LITIGATION No litigation information is required to be disclosed in this Item.

How to read these terms

  • Contract language does not summarize. Where a filing states a term in words, those words are what we publish, with the page they are on. Only the handful of terms that are genuinely numbers get compared with other systems.
  • A territory is only comparable to one measured the same way. Some systems size on residents aged 65 and over, some on the whole population. We keep those apart and never rank one against the other.
  • Disclosed cases are not a score. A count of proceedings mostly measures how big and how old a system is. We publish what each filing discloses, in its own words, with a rate per hundred locations so the count is not mistaken for a verdict.
›The numbers behind this page

What this filing does not disclose

  • How long the agreement runs: the filing does not state a term.
  • Minimum performance standards: the filing sets none we could read as a requirement.

Every term on this page is read from HomeCare Advocacy Network’s own 2026 disclosure document, and the wording is the filing’s rather than ours. Territory sizes are compared only with systems measuring on the same basis. Disclosed proceedings are shown as the filing describes them, with their status where the filing states one.

Are owners leaving? →

The Operator Signal
The terms change every filing season. We read them all.

Once a month: what moved in the filings, which systems changed their agreements, and what it means for owners.

Get the monthly read
Keep going