IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter

What does an owner commit to at Amada Senior Care?

Amada Senior Care gives an owner a territory of 32,000–42,000 residents aged 65 and over. That is above typical among home care systems.

Across 17 home care systems

How big are other systems' territories, next to Amada Senior Care's? →

How long you are in, and what leaving looks like

How long the agreement runs
Home Instead: 5Nurse Next Door: 5SYNERGY HomeCare: 5A Place At Home: 10Amada Senior Care: 10Assisting Hands Home Care: 10BrightStar Care: 10CareBuilders at Home: 10ComForCare: 10Comfort Keepers: 10Executive Home Care: 10FirstLight Home Care: 10Griswold: 10Hallmark Homecare: 10Home Matters Caregiving: 10Homewatch CareGivers: 10HomeWell Care Services: 10One You Love Homecare: 10Right at Home: 10Senior Helpers: 10Seniors Helping Seniors: 10Visiting Angels: 10
10
near typical
Source ↗
How long you may not compete after
Post-term non-compete: 2 years covering the territory and areas within 25 miles (see quote for the full scope)
The typical system: 2 years
2 years
near typical
p. 70 ↗
What it costs to hand the business on
For a transfer to a new franchisee where we provide the Lead6, 100% of our then-current Initial Franchise Fee; for a transfer to a new franchisee where we did not provide the Lead, 50% of our then-current Initial Franchise Fee; for a transfer to an existing franchisee, 25% of our then-current Initial Franchise Fee. Such fees are in addition to any fees paid directly to a broker who finds the transferee. $2,500 for approvals of transfers of non-controlling ownership interests of the Amada Senior Care Business.
It depends who buys
p. 25 ↗
What renewing means
10% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee at the time of the renewal.
Signing the agreement as it stands then
p. 66 ↗

A standard Amada Senior Care territory holds 32,000–42,000 residents aged 65 and over.

Standard territory size, across the systems measuring it the same way

Every system here sizes on residents aged 65 and over.

Source: Item 12, 2026 filingsHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Standard territory population, systems sizing on residents 65 and over
SystemResidents aged 65+
A Place At Homeabout 40,000
Amada Senior Care32,000–42,000
Assisting Hands Home Careat least 25,000
BrightStar Careat least 15,000
CareBuilders at Home30,000–40,000
ComForCare25,000–35,000
FirstLight Home Careabout 25,000
Griswold25,000
Home Instead10,000
HomeCare Advocacy Network30,000–50,000
Homewatch CareGivers38,000–40,000
HomeWell Care Services30,000–40,000
Nurse Next Doorabout 9,000
One You Love Homecareabout 50,000
Right at Homeat least 15,000
Senior Helpers25,000–35,000
SYNERGY HomeCareabout 20,000

Only systems that state a 65-and-over population are drawn: a system sizing on the whole population has measured something different, and the two are never ranked against each other. Where a filing says “at least” a number, the qualifier travels with the value.

Protection: Exclusive territory

32,000–42,000 people 65+p. 22 ↗

What an owner has to hit, and what happens if they miss

Royalty you owe regardless
A floor: an owner pays this or the percentage, whichever is larger.
$4K a month, once established
p. 104 ↗
Sales you must reach
Miss it and the territory stops being protected.
$1.2M a year, once established
p. 96 ↗

What an owner may not do

What you may sell
  • Franchisee must maintain sufficient care providers to meet consumer demand, offer services and products in the prescribed manner, and operate to enhance the System image.p. 65 ↗
  • Franchisee may only offer, use, sell, and provide products and services authorized or required by the franchisor for the System; may not offer any unauthorized products or services.p. 65 ↗
  • Franchisee must discontinue selling any unapproved products/services or any products/services the franchisor disapproves in writing at any time.p. 65 ↗
  • Franchisee must follow franchisor's policies, procedures, methods, and techniques and may not deviate from standards or specifications without prior written consent.p. 65 ↗
Who you may sell to
  • Franchisee may, with franchisor approval and subject to applicable law, obtain Medicare/Medicaid provider number, State Waiver and Home Health License, and furnish services to VA beneficiaries.p. 65 ↗
Other restrictions
  • Franchisor does not currently restrict prices but reserves the right to establish minimum and maximum prices for products or services in the future.p. 65 ↗
  • Franchisor reserves the right to change the types of approved products and services and to add additional approved products and services the franchisee must offer.p. 65 ↗
  • Franchisee's operations must comply with all applicable laws, and franchisee must investigate and ensure compliance at its own expense.p. 65 ↗
  • Franchisee must at all times hold itself out as an independent contractor and take actions to identify the business as independently owned and operated.p. 65 ↗
  • All products, services, equipment, and other items not required to be purchased per Approved Supplies/Suppliers List must conform to franchisor's quality standards and specifications.p. 65 ↗

Amada Senior Care’s filing discloses 11 proceedings.

That is 4.2 per 100 locations, against 1.3 per 100 locations across the whole field. A count of proceedings mostly measures how large and how old a system is, which is why it is shown as a rate and never as a score.

  • 2025 · State Case No.: WC-CM-982248

    Former employee of Timeless Homecare Inc., an independently owned and operated Amada franchisee, filed a wage claim alleging violations of California wage-and-hour laws by the franchisee, and named Amada Franchise, Inc. as a respondent.p. 21 ↗

  • 2024 · AAA Case Number 01-24-0006-4421

    Action arose from another franchisee encroaching upon Micit's territory. Claims for breach of contract, breach of implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, fraudulent misrepresentation, negligent misrepresentation, intentional misrepresentation with prospective economic relation, negligent interference with prospective economic relations, and unlawful/unfair/fraudulent business practices under California Business & Professions Code §§ 17200, et seq.p. 20 ↗

  • 2024 · settled · Case No. 2024L009136 (Cook County, IL); AAA Case Number 01-25-0000-9078

    Action arising from another franchisee allegedly encroaching upon TFAA's territory and Amada's alleged support of such encroachment; arbitration claims for breach of contract, breach of implied-in-fact contract, breach of implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, promissory estoppel, fraudulent misrepresentation, negligent misrepresentation, intentional interference with prospective economic relations, negligent interference with prospective economic relations, and violations of California Business & Professions Code §§ 17200, et seq.p. 21 ↗

8 earlier proceedings
  • 2020 · FIL Org Id.: 92090

    Consent Order regarding a litigation matter (a wage and hour dispute filed by Ariana Salucci) that was not disclosed in the disclosure document during part of 2019.p. 18 ↗

  • 2019 · 30-2019-01051963-CU-BC-CJC

    Breach of contract, promissory estoppel and false promise in connection with Mr. Steffy's investment in Mammoplan, LLC doing business as Team Better, based on the purported representation that Mr. Ingersoll would act as chief executive officer.p. 18 ↗

  • 2019 · FIL Org Id.: 92090

    Consent Order regarding certain disclosures that were not included in the disclosure document at some or all times between 2012 and 2018.p. 19 ↗

  • 2017 · settled

    Amended Statement of Claims for intentional misrepresentation, negligent misrepresentation, fraud – suppression of material fact, breach of contract, violation of California Franchise Investment Law, violation of California Business & Professions Code Section 17200, accounting, unjust enrichment and rescission of contracts, arising out of the Hamarock Acquisition.p. 19 ↗

  • 2016 · dismissed · 30-2016-00894414-CU-FR-CJC

    State Court Action alleging the same facts and causes of action contained in the Amended Statement, arising from the Hamarock Acquisition.p. 19 ↗

  • 2016 · settled

    Breach of contract and breach of warranty in connection with Hamarock's purchase of assets relating to the Amada Senior Care business in Orange County, California (the Hamarock Acquisition).p. 19 ↗

  • 2016 · FIL Org Id.: 92090

    Stop Order and Citation alleging Amada failed to notify the Commissioner regarding a Trade2Save.com complaint, failed to disclose Play N Trade as an affiliate and a 2009 desist and refrain order and 2010 stipulation, and failed to disclose the Trade2Save litigation in multiple filings.p. 20 ↗

  • pending · C-15-cv-24-003297

    Micit added Amada to an existing Maryland litigation case based on the same allegations as the Micit arbitration proceedings.p. 21 ↗

How to read these terms

  • Contract language does not summarize. Where a filing states a term in words, those words are what we publish, with the page they are on. Only the handful of terms that are genuinely numbers get compared with other systems.
  • A territory is only comparable to one measured the same way. Some systems size on residents aged 65 and over, some on the whole population. We keep those apart and never rank one against the other.
  • Disclosed cases are not a score. A count of proceedings mostly measures how big and how old a system is. We publish what each filing discloses, in its own words, with a rate per hundred locations so the count is not mistaken for a verdict.
›The numbers behind this page

What the agreement says about the minimums

  • Royalty you owe regardless: “For Gross Billings generated by Senior Care and Administration Services provided by the Franchised Business, Franchisee must pay to Franchisor a royalty fee (“Royalty Fee”) equal to the greater of: (i) five percent (5%) of monthly Gross Billings or the minimum Royalty Fee (“Minimum Royalty Fee”), as outlined below.”
  • Sales you must reach: “Franchisor will not operate or license others to operate a Franchised Business or use the Marks within Franchisee’s Designated Territory unless Franchisee does not meet its minimum Gross Billings standards (“Minimum Gross Billings Standards”) for Senior Care services in any year.”

The proceedings, as the filing describes them

  • “The claimed amount is approximately $458,547.44. The matter remains pending.”
  • “The Interim Award directs us to pay Micit actual damages of $221,607.15 plus prejudgment interest, attorney fees and costs in an amount to be determined in a Final Award.”
  • “The matter was resolved on February 6, 2026 by Confidential Settlement Agreement and the arbitration was dismissed with prejudice.”
  • “we agreed to (a) desist and refrain from violating the California Franchise Investment Law, (b) waive our rights to a hearing, (c) pay a $10,000 administrative penalty to the Commissioner”
  • “Under the settlement agreement, Mr. Steffy received a $55,000 settlement payment, the case was to be dismissed and all parties signed a general release.”
  • “we agreed to (a) desist and refrain from violating the California Franchise Investment Law, (b) waive rights to a hearing, (c) pay a $30,000 administrative penalty to the Commissioner, (d) pay to the Commissioner $6,000 for investigative costs”
  • “The total settlement amount was $3,000,000 and all payment obligations under the settlement agreements have been satisfied, and the cases were subsequently dismissed.”
  • “As part of the parties' settlement, a stipulation for dismissal of the case was filed on January 9, 2019, and the case was subsequently dismissed.”
  • “Hamarock's Initial Demand sought $1,150,000 as relief for its claims.”
  • “we would (a) desist and refrain from violating the California Franchise Investment Law, (b) waive rights to a hearing on a Stop Order, Citations and Desist and Refrain Order (defined below), (c) pay a $5,000 administrative penalty to the Commissioner”
  • “This action remains stayed pending resolution of the arbitration proceedings described above.”

What this filing does not disclose

  • Nothing material to this question is missing from this filing.

Every term on this page is read from Amada Senior Care’s own 2026 disclosure document, and the wording is the filing’s rather than ours. Territory sizes are compared only with systems measuring on the same basis. Disclosed proceedings are shown as the filing describes them, with their status where the filing states one. Source ↗

Are owners leaving? →

The Operator Signal
The terms change every filing season. We read them all.

Once a month: what moved in the filings, which systems changed their agreements, and what it means for owners.

Get the monthly read
Keep going