Is Griswold growing, and is the growth healthy?
Griswold Home Care grew its franchised locations +21.5% over three years. That is below typical for a scaling system.
Compared with 12 other scaling systems
Griswold grew +21.5% over three years, on 198 locations
Every mark is a system. The bands are the stage rule, drawn.
›View data & method
| System | Locations | Three-year growth | Stage |
|---|---|---|---|
| HomeWell Care Services | 201 | +63.4% | scaling system |
| Amada Senior Care | 261 | +63.1% | scaling system |
| Assisting Hands Home Care | 232 | +36.5% | scaling system |
| Seniors Helping Seniors | 224 | +85.1% | scaling system |
| FirstLight Home Care | 238 | +30.1% | scaling system |
| Griswold | 198 | +21.5% | scaling system |
| ComForCare | 271 | +24.3% | scaling system |
| Homewatch CareGivers | 260 | +17.1% | scaling system |
| Senior Helpers | 394 | +25.5% | scaling system |
| BrightStar Care | 396 | +14.1% | scaling system |
| Nurse Next Door | 71 | +42.0% | emerging system |
| SYNERGY HomeCare | 626 | +37.9% | scaling system |
| Right at Home | 566 | +14.1% | scaling system |
| Visiting Angels | 541 | +1.7% | mature system |
| Comfort Keepers | 619 | +15.7% | scaling system |
| Home Instead | 626 | +2.0% | mature system |
| A Place At Home | 50 | +163.2% | emerging system |
| CareBuilders at Home | 28 | +75.0% | early system |
| One You Love Homecare | 24 | +71.4% | early system |
| Executive Home Care | 79 | +338.9% | emerging system |
Size is on a log scale, because the field runs from single digits to several hundred locations. The bands are the literal thresholds the stage rule uses, so the rule can be checked against the marks rather than taken on trust.
Griswold added locations in 2 of the 3 years the filing reconciles
Openings right, exits left, from a shared centre.
›View data & method
| Fiscal year | Opened | Exits | Net | Locations at year end |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 5 | 5 | 0 | 163 |
| 2024 | 20 | 1 | +19 | 182 |
| 2025 | 22 | 6 | +16 | 198 |
Exits count terminations, non-renewals, locations the franchisor bought back, and locations that ceased operating. A year is shown only where the filing’s own totals reconcile; a year it does not is named under the chart rather than drawn as a zero.
How to read growth
- Net change is openings minus exits, not new openings. A system that opened forty locations and lost thirty grew by ten. Both halves matter, and a system that only ever shows you one of them is showing you the flattering one.
- An exit is not a failure. The same figure holds locations that were terminated, locations whose agreement ran out, locations the franchisor bought back, and locations that simply stopped. A franchisor buying its own locations back is a strategy, not a casualty.
- Under ten locations, a rate means almost nothing. A system that went from four locations to seven grew 75%, and will tell you so. Below ten we publish the counts and not the percentage.
›The numbers behind this page
| Fiscal year | Locations at start | Opened | Exits | Locations at end |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 163 | 5 | 5 | 163 |
| 2024 | 163 | 20 | 1 | 182 |
| 2025 | 182 | 22 | 6 | 198 |
What this filing does not disclose
- Franchises sold and not yet open: the filing does not state a figure.
Every figure on this page is read from Griswold’s own 2026 disclosure document. Exits count terminations, non-renewals, locations the franchisor bought back, and locations that ceased operating. A growth rate is not published where the system began the year with fewer than ten franchised locations, because a rate over a base that small moves on a single opening. Source ↗
Ask HQ reads your own referral, admission and retention numbers against the same benchmarks these filings make comparable.