IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter
Franchisor Intelligence / Griswold / How it makes money

How does Griswold make money?

Griswold Home Care draws 1.8% of its revenue from selling new franchises. That is lower than most among franchisors reporting their own books.

Compared with 13 franchisors reporting their own books

Which franchisors lean on new sales more than Griswold? →

Where the revenue in Griswold’s filing came from, year by year

Each column is one year. 2025: $23.83M in total.

New-franchise feesCare it delivers itself
2024 — New-franchise fees: 1.4%2024 — Care it delivers itself: 60.0%2024 — Other income: 38.6%20242025 — New-franchise fees: 1.8%2025 — Care it delivers itself: 56.9%2025 — Other income: 41.3%2025
Source: Audited financial statements, 2026 filingHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Griswold: revenue by line and fiscal year
Line20242025
New-franchise fees$331.9K$420K
Care it delivers itself$13.8M$13.6M
Total revenue$22.97M$23.83M

Read from the one audited statement package the filing presents as current, full years only. A line the statements do not break out is not drawn; what is left over after the named lines is shown as other income rather than dropped, because a mix that does not sum to the whole misstates the whole.

The figures on this page are Griswold’s own audited statements.

The entity
Griswold International, LLC and Subsidiary
What is inside it
the franchisor consolidated with its own subsidiaries
The opinion
Clean — no reservations

p. 209 ↗

Royalties, or selling the next franchise?

New-franchise fee share
Griswold: 1.8%BrightStar Care: 2.0%Visiting Angels: 5.5%Senior Helpers: 5.6%Amada Senior Care: 7.4%HomeCare Advocacy Network: 7.8%HomeWell Care Services: 8.3%SYNERGY HomeCare: 8.9%Assisting Hands Home Care: 18.2%Seniors Helping Seniors: 27.3%Nurse Next Door: 36.6%Home Matters Caregiving: 37.7%Hallmark Homecare: 77.7%
1.8%
lower than most

Compared with 13 franchisors reporting their own books.

What Griswold keeps

Operating margin
What is left of revenue after the cost of running the franchisor, before interest and tax.
10.3%
near typical
Cash from operations
How much of revenue arrived as cash the business actually collected.
-3.1%

Systems in this field are taxed in different ways — some pay tax as a company, some pass it to their owners — so the figure after tax is not comparable across them, and is not compared here.

What it owns and what it owes

Everything it owns
$27.58M
Total assets at the year end.
What is left over
$7.95M
What it owns, less everything it owes.
Owed against owned
71.2%
The share of what it owns that is already committed.
Cover for the next twelve months
1.9×
What is due within a year, against what can be turned into cash within a year.

How to read a franchisor's accounts

  • These are the franchisor's books, not the owners'. Item 21 shows what the company that sells the franchise earns. What an owner's business brings in is a different question, on a different page, and the two are never mixed.
  • Sometimes the books belong to a parent. Seven of these twenty-three systems file the audited statements of the group that owns them. Where that is the case we say so, name the entity, and show the figures on their own rather than against franchisors reporting their own accounts.
  • Royalties and new-franchise fees are two different businesses. A franchisor living on royalties earns when its owners do. One living on the fees from selling franchises has to keep selling them.
›The numbers behind this page
Griswold: audited figures by fiscal year
Figure20242025
Total revenue$22.97M$23.83M
New-franchise fees$332K$420K
Care it delivers itself$13.77M$13.57M
Operating margin-10.8%10.3%
Net income$-2.96M$1.51M
Cash from operations$4.39M$-743K
Total assets$27.59M$27.58M
Equity$15.16M$7.95M

What the statements say they cover

Figures are Griswold International, LLC and Subsidiary; the franchisor consolidated with its own subsidiaries; consolidating Griswold International, LLC.

What this filing does not disclose

  • How much of its revenue is royalties: the filing does not break the figure out.
  • The name of the auditor: the filing does not state it in a form we could read.

Every figure on this page comes from the one audited statement package Griswold’s 2026 filing presents as current. Full years only: stub periods, predecessor presentations and the disaggregation tables that repeat a year are excluded. Margins are compared before tax, because these entities are taxed in different ways.

What does an owner actually pay? →

The Operator Signal
We read all 23 filings so you do not have to.

Once a month: what changed in the filings, which systems moved, and the numbers worth quoting.

Get the monthly read
Keep going