IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter

What does an owner pay A Place At Home each year?

A Place At Home takes 7.7% of a million dollars of sales each year. That is above typical among home care systems.

Across 20 home care systems

Which systems take more each year than A Place At Home? →

A Place At Home takes $77,100 a year from a business billing a million dollars

At $1M in annual sales

Royalty — $55,000Brand fund — $20,000Technology — $2,100
At $1M in annual sales — Royalty: $55,000At $1M in annual sales — Brand fund: $20,000At $1M in annual sales — Technology: $2,100At $1M in annual sales
Source: Item 6 fee schedule, 2026 filingHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
A Place At Home: recurring fees at $1M in annual sales
FeeAs the filing states itA year at $1M
Royalty5.5% of gross sales$55,000
Brand fund2.0% of sales$20,000
Technology$175 a month$2,100
All of it7.7%$77,100

Arithmetic, not a forecast: each fee as the filing states it, applied to a million dollars of annual sales so that percentages, monthly amounts and minimums can be added together. The total is published only where all three fees are stated — two of three would not be a smaller number, it would be an understated one.

$77,100 a year. That is above typical in this field, where the middle system takes $72,850.

A Place At Home charges the same rate on every dollar of gross sales.

The rate on the price list, and the rate a million dollars of sales pays

Where the two marks sit on top of each other, the rate is flat.

on the price listat $1M in sales
CareBuilders at Home: 9.0% → 9.0%CareBuilders at HomeHomeCare Advocacy Network: 7.0% → 7.0%HomeCare Advocacy Net…Executive Home Care: 6.0% → 6.0%Executive Home CareHallmark Homecare: 6.0% → 6.0%Hallmark HomecareHome Matters Caregiving: 6.0% → 6.0%Home Matters Caregivi…HomeWell Care Services: 6.0% → 6.0%HomeWell Care ServicesA Place At Home: 5.5% → 5.5%A Place At HomeSeniors Helping Seniors: 6.0% → 5.4%Seniors Helping Senio…BrightStar Care: 5.3% → 5.3%BrightStar CareAmada Senior Care: 5.0% → 5.0%Amada Senior CareAssisting Hands Home Care: 5.0% → 5.0%Assisting Hands Home…ComForCare: 5.0% → 5.0%ComForCareComfort Keepers: 5.0% → 5.0%Comfort KeepersFirstLight Home Care: 5.0% → 5.0%FirstLight Home CareGriswold: 5.0% → 5.0%GriswoldHome Instead: 5.0% → 5.0%Home InsteadHomewatch CareGivers: 5.0% → 5.0%Homewatch CareGiversNurse Next Door: 5.0% → 5.0%Nurse Next DoorOne You Love Homecare: 5.0% → 5.0%One You Love HomecareRight at Home: 5.0% → 5.0%Right at HomeSenior Helpers: 5.0% → 5.0%Senior HelpersSYNERGY HomeCare: 5.0% → 5.0%SYNERGY HomeCareVisiting Angels: 3.5% → 3.5%Visiting Angels3.3%9.2%
Source: Item 6, 2026 filingsHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Sticker royalty against the effective rate at $1M in sales
SystemOn the price listAt $1M in sales
CareBuilders at Home9.0%9.0%
HomeCare Advocacy Network7.0%7.0%
Executive Home Care6.0%6.0%
Hallmark Homecare6.0%6.0%
Home Matters Caregiving6.0%6.0%
HomeWell Care Services6.0%6.0%
A Place At Home5.5%5.5%
Seniors Helping Seniors6.0%5.4%
BrightStar Care5.3%5.3%
Amada Senior Care5.0%5.0%
Assisting Hands Home Care5.0%5.0%
ComForCare5.0%5.0%
Comfort Keepers5.0%5.0%
FirstLight Home Care5.0%5.0%
Griswold5.0%5.0%
Home Instead5.0%5.0%
Homewatch CareGivers5.0%5.0%
Nurse Next Door5.0%5.0%
One You Love Homecare5.0%5.0%
Right at Home5.0%5.0%
Senior Helpers5.0%5.0%
SYNERGY HomeCare5.0%5.0%
Visiting Angels3.5%3.5%

The effective rate is what the schedule actually collects at a million dollars of sales, worked out from the tiers as the filing prints them. A flat schedule collects its sticker rate at every level, so its two marks coincide — that is the picture, not a drawing error.

$500K in sales
5.5%
$1M in sales
5.5%
$2M in sales
5.3%

Charged on gross sales. 17 of the 21 systems that state a base charge on everything billed. Source ↗

What else comes out every month

Brand fund
A share of sales, spent on marketing the brand.
2.0%
Technology
Currently $175 per month plus an additional fee of up to $18 per user per month applies if you exceed five users, subject to increase by up to 20% per annum — covers: Administrative fee currently associated with Google Business and monthly web hosting; includes business application licenses for up to five unique users
$175/mo
Local marketing
Minimum of 2% of monthly Gross Sales but not less than $150 per Territory per month
Spent in the owner’s own market, not paid to the franchisor — so it is not in the figure above.
at least $150/mo

What is paid once

To join
$50K
$89K is the low end of what it takes to open
Source ↗
To sell the business on
$10K
Transfer fee: $10,000
p. 20 ↗
To renew
$5K
Renewal fee: $5,000
p. 15 ↗

How to read these fees

  • The sticker royalty is the smallest part of the answer. What a rate collects depends on what it is charged on — everything billed, or billings after refunds and collected taxes — and on what else recurs beside it.
  • The total is shown at a million dollars of sales. That is a common figure to reach and it makes systems quoting percentages, monthly amounts and flat minimums add up in the same units. It is arithmetic, not a forecast.
  • Local marketing is not a fee. Money a system requires an owner to spend in their own market is a real obligation and it does not go to the franchisor, so it sits outside the total and is listed on its own.
›The numbers behind this page
A Place At Home: recurring fees, as stated and at $1M in sales
FeeAs the filing states itA year at $1M
Royalty5.5% of gross sales$55,000
Brand fund2.0% of sales$20,000
Technology$175 a month$2,100
All of it7.7%$77,100

What this filing does not disclose

  • What is owed before the first client: the filing does not state all three of the fixed monthly amounts that would make one up.
  • A minimum-performance schedule we could draw: the filing either sets no stepped minimum or does not make the timing of its steps clear.

Every fee on this page is read from A Place At Home’s own 2026 disclosure document. The annual total is our arithmetic on those stated fees at a million dollars of sales, and it holds the royalty, the brand fund and the technology fee — the three things paid to the franchisor every year, whatever the business does. Source ↗

What does A Place At Home provide, and what does it charge for? →

Ask HQ
That is what this system charges. What is your own cost of doing business?

Ask HQ reads your billings and overhead against the same benchmarks these filings make comparable.

Try Ask HQ
Keep going