IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter

What does an owner pay Home Instead each year?

Home Instead takes 7.6% of a million dollars of sales each year. That is above typical among home care systems.

Across 20 home care systems

Which systems take more each year than Home Instead? →

Home Instead takes $76,000 a year from a business billing a million dollars

At $1M in annual sales

Royalty — $50,000Brand fund — $20,000Technology — $6,000
At $1M in annual sales — Royalty: $50,000At $1M in annual sales — Brand fund: $20,000At $1M in annual sales — Technology: $6,000At $1M in annual sales
Source: Item 6 fee schedule, 2026 filingHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Home Instead: recurring fees at $1M in annual sales
FeeAs the filing states itA year at $1M
Royalty5.0% of gross sales$50,000
Brand fund2.0% of sales$20,000
Technology$500 a month$6,000
All of it7.6%$76,000

Arithmetic, not a forecast: each fee as the filing states it, applied to a million dollars of annual sales so that percentages, monthly amounts and minimums can be added together. The total is published only where all three fees are stated — two of three would not be a smaller number, it would be an understated one.

$76,000 a year. That is above typical in this field, where the middle system takes $72,850.

Home Instead charges the same rate on every dollar of gross sales.

The rate on the price list, and the rate a million dollars of sales pays

Where the two marks sit on top of each other, the rate is flat.

on the price listat $1M in sales
CareBuilders at Home: 9.0% → 9.0%CareBuilders at HomeHomeCare Advocacy Network: 7.0% → 7.0%HomeCare Advocacy Net…Executive Home Care: 6.0% → 6.0%Executive Home CareHallmark Homecare: 6.0% → 6.0%Hallmark HomecareHome Matters Caregiving: 6.0% → 6.0%Home Matters Caregivi…HomeWell Care Services: 6.0% → 6.0%HomeWell Care ServicesA Place At Home: 5.5% → 5.5%A Place At HomeSeniors Helping Seniors: 6.0% → 5.4%Seniors Helping Senio…BrightStar Care: 5.3% → 5.3%BrightStar CareAmada Senior Care: 5.0% → 5.0%Amada Senior CareAssisting Hands Home Care: 5.0% → 5.0%Assisting Hands Home…ComForCare: 5.0% → 5.0%ComForCareComfort Keepers: 5.0% → 5.0%Comfort KeepersFirstLight Home Care: 5.0% → 5.0%FirstLight Home CareGriswold: 5.0% → 5.0%GriswoldHome Instead: 5.0% → 5.0%Home InsteadHomewatch CareGivers: 5.0% → 5.0%Homewatch CareGiversNurse Next Door: 5.0% → 5.0%Nurse Next DoorOne You Love Homecare: 5.0% → 5.0%One You Love HomecareRight at Home: 5.0% → 5.0%Right at HomeSenior Helpers: 5.0% → 5.0%Senior HelpersSYNERGY HomeCare: 5.0% → 5.0%SYNERGY HomeCareVisiting Angels: 3.5% → 3.5%Visiting Angels3.3%9.2%
Source: Item 6, 2026 filingsHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Sticker royalty against the effective rate at $1M in sales
SystemOn the price listAt $1M in sales
CareBuilders at Home9.0%9.0%
HomeCare Advocacy Network7.0%7.0%
Executive Home Care6.0%6.0%
Hallmark Homecare6.0%6.0%
Home Matters Caregiving6.0%6.0%
HomeWell Care Services6.0%6.0%
A Place At Home5.5%5.5%
Seniors Helping Seniors6.0%5.4%
BrightStar Care5.3%5.3%
Amada Senior Care5.0%5.0%
Assisting Hands Home Care5.0%5.0%
ComForCare5.0%5.0%
Comfort Keepers5.0%5.0%
FirstLight Home Care5.0%5.0%
Griswold5.0%5.0%
Home Instead5.0%5.0%
Homewatch CareGivers5.0%5.0%
Nurse Next Door5.0%5.0%
One You Love Homecare5.0%5.0%
Right at Home5.0%5.0%
Senior Helpers5.0%5.0%
SYNERGY HomeCare5.0%5.0%
Visiting Angels3.5%3.5%

The effective rate is what the schedule actually collects at a million dollars of sales, worked out from the tiers as the filing prints them. A flat schedule collects its sticker rate at every level, so its two marks coincide — that is the picture, not a drawing error.

$500K in sales
5.0%
$1M in sales
5.0%
$2M in sales
5.0%

Charged on gross sales. 17 of the 21 systems that state a base charge on everything billed. Source ↗

What else comes out every month

Brand fund
A share of sales, spent on marketing the brand.
2.0%
Technology
Our then-current fee (currently $500/month) — covers: Monthly Technology Fee. We may adjust the fee at any time upon 60 days' written notice, although we will not increase the Technology Fee by more than 25% per calendar year.
$500/mo

Home Instead expects a business to be billing $272K a month once it is established.

The sales an owner is expected to reach

Each step is a period the filing names.

2$27K2$31K2$36K2$41K2$47K4$41K4$47K4$54K4$62K4$71K6$54K6$62K6$72K6$82K6$95K8$68K8$78K8$89K8$103K8$118K10$81K10$93K10$107K10$124K10$142K12$88K12$101K12$116K12$134K12$154K14$95K14$109K14$125K14$144K14$166K16$102K16$117K16$134K16$154K16$178K18$108K18$125K18$143K18$165K18$189K20$115K20$132K20$152K20$175K20$201K22$122K22$140K22$161K22$185K22$213K24$129K24$148K24$170K24$196K24$225K26$135K26$156K26$179K26$206K26$237K28$142K28$163K28$188K28$216K28$249K30$156K30$179K30$206K30$237K30$272K$0
Source: Item 12 and the franchise agreement, 2026 filingHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Home Instead: the minimum schedule as the filing prints it
PeriodAmount
2$27K
2$31K
2$36K
2$41K
2$47K
4$41K
4$47K
4$54K
4$62K
4$71K
6$54K
6$62K
6$72K
6$82K
6$95K
8$68K
8$78K
8$89K
8$103K
8$118K
10$81K
10$93K
10$107K
10$124K
10$142K
12$88K
12$101K
12$116K
12$134K
12$154K
14$95K
14$109K
14$125K
14$144K
14$166K
16$102K
16$117K
16$134K
16$154K
16$178K
18$108K
18$125K
18$143K
18$165K
18$189K
20$115K
20$132K
20$152K
20$175K
20$201K
22$122K
22$140K
22$161K
22$185K
22$213K
24$129K
24$148K
24$170K
24$196K
24$225K
26$135K
26$156K
26$179K
26$206K
26$237K
28$142K
28$163K
28$188K
28$216K
28$249K
30$156K
30$179K
30$206K
30$237K
30$272K

Drawn only where the filing makes the timing of each step clear. Where a schedule’s periods are ambiguous it is listed in words and not charted, because a step chart is a claim about months.

Miss it and the territory stops being protected. p. 48 ↗

What is paid once

To join
$54K
$93K is the low end of what it takes to open
Source ↗
To sell the business on
$25K
Transfer fee: $25,000
p. 21 ↗
To renew
$9K
Renewal fee: $9,000
p. 22 ↗

How to read these fees

  • The sticker royalty is the smallest part of the answer. What a rate collects depends on what it is charged on — everything billed, or billings after refunds and collected taxes — and on what else recurs beside it.
  • The total is shown at a million dollars of sales. That is a common figure to reach and it makes systems quoting percentages, monthly amounts and flat minimums add up in the same units. It is arithmetic, not a forecast.
  • Local marketing is not a fee. Money a system requires an owner to spend in their own market is a real obligation and it does not go to the franchisor, so it sits outside the total and is listed on its own.
›The numbers behind this page
Home Instead: recurring fees, as stated and at $1M in sales
FeeAs the filing states itA year at $1M
Royalty5.0% of gross sales$50,000
Brand fund2.0% of sales$20,000
Technology$500 a month$6,000
All of it7.6%$76,000

What the agreement says about the minimum

The monthly Minimum Gross Sales Requirement is the product of the Average Client Price (as defined herein) multiplied by the applicable Client Hours Served.

What this filing does not disclose

  • What is owed before the first client: the filing does not state all three of the fixed monthly amounts that would make one up.

Every fee on this page is read from Home Instead’s own 2026 disclosure document. The annual total is our arithmetic on those stated fees at a million dollars of sales, and it holds the royalty, the brand fund and the technology fee — the three things paid to the franchisor every year, whatever the business does. Source ↗

What does Home Instead provide, and what does it charge for? →

Ask HQ
That is what this system charges. What is your own cost of doing business?

Ask HQ reads your billings and overhead against the same benchmarks these filings make comparable.

Try Ask HQ
Keep going