IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter

What does an owner commit to at Comfort Keepers?

Comfort Keepers runs its agreement for 10 years.

Across 22 home care systems

Which systems sign owners up for longer than Comfort Keepers? →

How long you are in, and what leaving looks like

How long the agreement runs
Home Instead: 5Nurse Next Door: 5SYNERGY HomeCare: 5A Place At Home: 10Amada Senior Care: 10Assisting Hands Home Care: 10BrightStar Care: 10CareBuilders at Home: 10ComForCare: 10Comfort Keepers: 10Executive Home Care: 10FirstLight Home Care: 10Griswold: 10Hallmark Homecare: 10Home Matters Caregiving: 10Homewatch CareGivers: 10HomeWell Care Services: 10One You Love Homecare: 10Right at Home: 10Senior Helpers: 10Seniors Helping Seniors: 10Visiting Angels: 10
10
near typical
Source ↗
How long you may not compete after
Post-term non-compete: 2 years covering the territory and areas within 10 miles (see quote for the full scope)
The typical system: 2 years
2 years
near typical
p. 75 ↗
What it costs to hand the business on
Generally, the greater of $7,500 or 2% of all consideration paid in connection with the transfer, capped at $27,500 for concurrent related transfers, plus the amount of any broker commission CKFI must pay in connection with the transfer
The greater of two amounts
p. 21 ↗
What renewing means
$5,000
A flat fee
p. 20 ↗

What a Comfort Keepers territory covers

No exclusive territory: Territory is not exclusive

Adding to it: Added population priced at $300 per 1,000 residents

What an owner has to hit, and what happens if they miss

Royalty you owe regardless
A floor: an owner pays this or the percentage, whichever is larger.
$500 a month
p. 17 ↗
Sales you must reach
$70K a month, once established
p. 195 ↗

What an owner may not do

What you may sell
  • If franchisee chooses to offer Personal Technology Services and Equipment, they must be offered under the SafetyChoice® mark.p. 72 ↗
  • Franchisee may offer only those services and products the franchisor authorizes.p. 72 ↗
  • Franchisee must offer homemaker/companionship services, personal care services, and all other services/products the franchisor authorizes (unless otherwise specified).p. 72 ↗
Who you may sell to
  • Geographic limitations on clients served are set out in Item 12.p. 72 ↗
Other restrictions
  • Franchisor may change the types of services franchisee may or must offer, with no contractual limit on that right.p. 72 ↗

Comfort Keepers’ filing discloses 6 proceedings.

That is 1.0 per 100 locations, against 1.3 per 100 locations across the whole field. A count of proceedings mostly measures how large and how old a system is, which is why it is shown as a rate and never as a score.

  • 2025 · pending · 250602391

    Claiming negligence, vicarious liability, agency, personal liability and piercing the corporate veil related to the injury of a franchisee's client. Plaintiff seeks compensatory and punitive damages in unspecified amounts.p. 16 ↗

  • 2024 · pending · 202409205

    Claiming negligence, recklessness, conversion, and loss of consortium related to the injury of a franchisee's client; alleged CKFI's negligence in hiring and training employees contributed to the client's injuries under a theory of vicarious liability. Plaintiff seeks compensatory and punitive damages in unspecified amounts.p. 16 ↗

  • 2022 · decided by a court

    Civil investigation into provisions of CKFI's standard form client services agreement including Non-Solicit Provisions, a liquidated damages provision, and other enforcement provisions, alleging unlawful restraint under California Business and Professions Code Section 16600 and unfair business practices under Business and Professions Code § 17200 et seq.p. 16 ↗

3 earlier proceedings
  • 2018

    Civil investigation into Non-Solicit Provisions in CKFI's franchise agreement prohibiting franchisees from soliciting certain managerial-level employees, alleging unlawful restraint on trade in violation of Consumer Protection Act, RCW 19.86.030.p. 15 ↗

  • 2016 · settled · 01-16-0000- 2234

    Collective and class action claim by a former employee of a franchisee claiming wage and hour laws violations related to unpaid overtime; sought class certification, unpaid overtime wages and other relief under the Pennsylvania Minimum Wage Act.p. 15 ↗

  • settled · C.S.M. 500-17-109194-194

    Action sought recognition of cancellation of Master Franchise Agreement and injunctive relief enjoining defendants from violating non-competition provisions, a demand for royalties due and damages for violation of the Master Franchise Agreement, illicit use of the Comfort Keepers marks and illegal use of confidential information.p. 16 ↗

How to read these terms

  • Contract language does not summarize. Where a filing states a term in words, those words are what we publish, with the page they are on. Only the handful of terms that are genuinely numbers get compared with other systems.
  • A territory is only comparable to one measured the same way. Some systems size on residents aged 65 and over, some on the whole population. We keep those apart and never rank one against the other.
  • Disclosed cases are not a score. A count of proceedings mostly measures how big and how old a system is. We publish what each filing discloses, in its own words, with a rate per hundred locations so the count is not mistaken for a verdict.
›The numbers behind this page

What the agreement says about the minimums

  • Royalty you owe regardless: “With respect to Gross Revenues during the first 24 months of operation of a Franchised Business under a Start-up Agreement or an acquired Franchised Business, the royalty fee is the greater of the minimum Royalty Fee of $500 or 5% of Gross Revenue”
  • Sales you must reach: “Except as provided in Section 7.3(b), Your Franchised Business must achieve the following MPS Gross Revenue each month:”

The proceedings, as the filing describes them

  • “Litigation has just commenced.”
  • “CKFI was served September 3, 2024 under a theory of vicarious liability.”
  • “CKFI and the DOJ agreed to a compromised settlement of this matter via a stipulated judgment effective October 8, 2024 requiring payment of fines in the amount of $500,000”
  • “alleging that enforcement of such provisions by CKFI and its franchisees constitute an unlawful restraint on trade in violation of Consumer Protection Act, RCW 19.86.030.”
  • “This arbitration was filed January 22, 2016 as a collective and class action claim by a former employee of a franchisee, claiming wage and hour laws violations related to unpaid overtime.”
  • “This matter was settled in November 2019 by which the parties agreed to the termination of the Master Franchise Agreement, allowing the master franchisee 90 days to transition away from the brand”

What this filing does not disclose

  • The size of a standard territory: the filing does not state a population for one.

Every term on this page is read from Comfort Keepers’ own 2026 disclosure document, and the wording is the filing’s rather than ours. Territory sizes are compared only with systems measuring on the same basis. Disclosed proceedings are shown as the filing describes them, with their status where the filing states one. Source ↗

Are owners leaving? →

The Operator Signal
The terms change every filing season. We read them all.

Once a month: what moved in the filings, which systems changed their agreements, and what it means for owners.

Get the monthly read
Keep going