IntelligenceBlueprintsBriefsGlossaryNewsletter

What does an owner pay BrightStar Care each year?

BrightStar Care takes 8.1% of a million dollars of sales each year. That is above typical among home care systems.

Across 20 home care systems

Which systems take more each year than BrightStar Care? →

BrightStar Care takes $80,500 a year from a business billing a million dollars

At $1M in annual sales

Royalty — $52,500Brand fund — $25,000Technology — $3,000
At $1M in annual sales — Royalty: $52,500At $1M in annual sales — Brand fund: $25,000At $1M in annual sales — Technology: $3,000At $1M in annual sales
Source: Item 6 fee schedule, 2026 filingHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
BrightStar Care: recurring fees at $1M in annual sales
FeeAs the filing states itA year at $1M
Royalty5.3% of net billings$52,500
Brand fund2.5% of sales$25,000
Technology$250 a month$3,000
All of it8.1%$80,500

Arithmetic, not a forecast: each fee as the filing states it, applied to a million dollars of annual sales so that percentages, monthly amounts and minimums can be added together. The total is published only where all three fees are stated — two of three would not be a smaller number, it would be an understated one.

$80,500 a year. That is above typical in this field, where the middle system takes $72,850.

BrightStar Care charges the same rate on every dollar of net billings.

The rate on the price list, and the rate a million dollars of sales pays

Where the two marks sit on top of each other, the rate is flat.

on the price listat $1M in sales
CareBuilders at Home: 9.0% → 9.0%CareBuilders at HomeHomeCare Advocacy Network: 7.0% → 7.0%HomeCare Advocacy Net…Executive Home Care: 6.0% → 6.0%Executive Home CareHallmark Homecare: 6.0% → 6.0%Hallmark HomecareHome Matters Caregiving: 6.0% → 6.0%Home Matters Caregivi…HomeWell Care Services: 6.0% → 6.0%HomeWell Care ServicesA Place At Home: 5.5% → 5.5%A Place At HomeSeniors Helping Seniors: 6.0% → 5.4%Seniors Helping Senio…BrightStar Care: 5.3% → 5.3%BrightStar CareAmada Senior Care: 5.0% → 5.0%Amada Senior CareAssisting Hands Home Care: 5.0% → 5.0%Assisting Hands Home…ComForCare: 5.0% → 5.0%ComForCareComfort Keepers: 5.0% → 5.0%Comfort KeepersFirstLight Home Care: 5.0% → 5.0%FirstLight Home CareGriswold: 5.0% → 5.0%GriswoldHome Instead: 5.0% → 5.0%Home InsteadHomewatch CareGivers: 5.0% → 5.0%Homewatch CareGiversNurse Next Door: 5.0% → 5.0%Nurse Next DoorOne You Love Homecare: 5.0% → 5.0%One You Love HomecareRight at Home: 5.0% → 5.0%Right at HomeSenior Helpers: 5.0% → 5.0%Senior HelpersSYNERGY HomeCare: 5.0% → 5.0%SYNERGY HomeCareVisiting Angels: 3.5% → 3.5%Visiting Angels3.3%9.2%
Source: Item 6, 2026 filingsHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
Sticker royalty against the effective rate at $1M in sales
SystemOn the price listAt $1M in sales
CareBuilders at Home9.0%9.0%
HomeCare Advocacy Network7.0%7.0%
Executive Home Care6.0%6.0%
Hallmark Homecare6.0%6.0%
Home Matters Caregiving6.0%6.0%
HomeWell Care Services6.0%6.0%
A Place At Home5.5%5.5%
Seniors Helping Seniors6.0%5.4%
BrightStar Care5.3%5.3%
Amada Senior Care5.0%5.0%
Assisting Hands Home Care5.0%5.0%
ComForCare5.0%5.0%
Comfort Keepers5.0%5.0%
FirstLight Home Care5.0%5.0%
Griswold5.0%5.0%
Home Instead5.0%5.0%
Homewatch CareGivers5.0%5.0%
Nurse Next Door5.0%5.0%
One You Love Homecare5.0%5.0%
Right at Home5.0%5.0%
Senior Helpers5.0%5.0%
SYNERGY HomeCare5.0%5.0%
Visiting Angels3.5%3.5%

The effective rate is what the schedule actually collects at a million dollars of sales, worked out from the tiers as the filing prints them. A flat schedule collects its sticker rate at every level, so its two marks coincide — that is the picture, not a drawing error.

$500K in sales
5.3%
$1M in sales
5.3%
$2M in sales
5.3%

Charged on net billings. 4 of the 21 systems that state a base charge on billings after refunds. Source ↗

What else comes out every month

Brand fund
A share of sales, spent on marketing the brand.
2.5%
Technology
Monthly Athena Business System and Email Service Fee: the higher of $250 per month or 1% of the prior month's Net Billings; Microsoft Enterprise Package $14.50 per seat; Multi-factor Authentication Security License up to $5 per account per month — covers: Athena Business System (ABS) and Email Service; Microsoft Enterprise Package; Multi-factor Authentication Security License. Excludes third-party approved solutions (i.e., Microsoft Enterprise Package, Hireology, CRM, payroll, EVV, HR/workforce, or WorkBright).
$250/mo
Local marketing
the greater of: (i) 1.5% of your Agency's monthly Net Billings up to $200,000 (for a 4-week month or $250,000 for a 5-week month) and 0.5% of your Agency's monthly Net Billings over $200,000 (for a 4-week month or $250,000 for a 5-week month); or (ii) $1,000 per month
Spent in the owner’s own market, not paid to the franchisor — so it is not in the figure above.
at least $1K/mo

BrightStar Care expects a business to be billing $125K a month once it is established.

The sales an owner is expected to reach

Each step is a period the filing names.

Each of Yea…$60KEach of Yea…$75KEach of Yea…$80KEach of Yea…$100KEach of Yea…$100KEach of Yea…$125K$0
Source: Item 12 and the franchise agreement, 2026 filingHomecareHQ Intelligence · 2026 FDDs
›View data & method
BrightStar Care: the minimum schedule as the filing prints it
PeriodAmount
Each of Yea…$60K
Each of Yea…$75K
Each of Yea…$80K
Each of Yea…$100K
Each of Yea…$100K
Each of Yea…$125K

Drawn only where the filing makes the timing of each step clear. Where a schedule’s periods are ambiguous it is listed in words and not charted, because a step chart is a claim about months.

What is paid once

To join
$50K
$103K is the low end of what it takes to open
Source ↗
Veteran discount
$5K off
Veteran discount: $5,000 off the initial franchise fee
p. 16 ↗
To sell the business on
$15K
Transfer fee: $15,000 — $15,000 (pro-rata if transfer is less than 100%).
p. 21 ↗
To renew
$5K
Renewal fee: $5,000
p. 20 ↗

How to read these fees

  • The sticker royalty is the smallest part of the answer. What a rate collects depends on what it is charged on — everything billed, or billings after refunds and collected taxes — and on what else recurs beside it.
  • The total is shown at a million dollars of sales. That is a common figure to reach and it makes systems quoting percentages, monthly amounts and flat minimums add up in the same units. It is arithmetic, not a forecast.
  • Local marketing is not a fee. Money a system requires an owner to spend in their own market is a real obligation and it does not go to the franchisor, so it sits outside the total and is listed on its own.
›The numbers behind this page
BrightStar Care: recurring fees, as stated and at $1M in sales
FeeAs the filing states itA year at $1M
Royalty5.3% of net billings$52,500
Brand fund2.5% of sales$25,000
Technology$250 a month$3,000
All of it8.1%$80,500

What the agreement says about the minimum

If you are acquiring a franchise for a new Agency to be operated in a “standard” size territory, beginning the first 12 months of operations after your Minimum Start Date, your monthly performance must meet or exceed the Monthly Performance Standards appearing in the chart below.

What this filing does not disclose

  • What is owed before the first client: the filing does not state all three of the fixed monthly amounts that would make one up.

Every fee on this page is read from BrightStar Care’s own 2026 disclosure document. The annual total is our arithmetic on those stated fees at a million dollars of sales, and it holds the royalty, the brand fund and the technology fee — the three things paid to the franchisor every year, whatever the business does. Source ↗

What does BrightStar Care provide, and what does it charge for? →

Ask HQ
That is what this system charges. What is your own cost of doing business?

Ask HQ reads your billings and overhead against the same benchmarks these filings make comparable.

Try Ask HQ
Keep going